Top Rated Public Education

Residents have a wide selection of school choice in Columbus, Indiana and Bartholomew County.

Columbus North High School

The largest public school district within the county (and the 15th largest in Indiana) is the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation (BCSC), serving more than 11,000 students among its two high schools, two middle schools, and eleven elementary schools.

BCSC is also home to the Columbus Signature Academy (CSA), the first K-12 Project-Based Learning magnet school in the nation. Students at the two CSA elementary schools, middle school, and New Tech High School campus work collaboratively using technology and project-based learning to solve authentic problems and create real-world projects.

The residents of Hope, Indiana, are served by the Flat Rock-Hawcreek School Corporation serving 900 students at Hope Elementary School and Hauser Jr-Sr High School. While residents of Edinburgh, Indiana are served by the Edinburgh Community School Corporation serving over 860 students.

St Peter’s Lutheran Church & School

Private Schools

If parochial or other private schools are your preference, Bartholomew County is home to seven private schools.

  1. ABC-Stewart Montessori School (PK-6)
  2. Bethel Holiness Christian School (K-12)
  3. Columbus Christian School (K-12)
  4. Midway Christian Academy (K-9)
  5. North Star Montessori School (1-6)
  6. St. Bartholomew School (K-8)
  7. St. Peter’s Lutheran School (K-8)


Higher Education

For higher education that is close to home, Columbus is the proud home of a joint campus of Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC), Purdue Polytechnic Columbus, and Ivy Tech Community College. In addition, Indiana Wesleyan University and Harrison College also offer local programs.

For more information on any of the education providers in our community, please refer to our Partner and Resource Links.

IUPUC Campus